Major Trophies and Awards

CSSC has a number of trophies and awards which are awarded annually across CSSC to individuals, Area Associations, Sport and Recreation Bodies and Departmental Associations with the best record of achievement in a specified category.

These trophies and awards are an opportunity for CSSC to give recognition to individuals and organisations for any particularly significant contribution or difference made by them, effecting the business and spirit of CSSC, during the course of the year.

If you would like to know more about any of the awards please contact Hedley Featherstone on or 07802 482330.

Click on the links below to view all the previous winners and click here to find out how to nominate someone for one of these prestigious awards.

The Innovation Award

Is for the affiliated association, club, Regional Council, National Sports Organiser or regional organiser that have been innovative in introducing a project or something similar that has had a major and positive impact on CSSC.

Congratulations to 2017's Innovation Award recipients CSSC Wales!

Innovation Award Previous Winners

The Sportsperson Award

Is for the member who has made a significant impact on a CSSC activity and sport either in one particular year or over a number of years. This is an amalgamation of the Warren Fisher Trophy (Sportsman of the year) and Centels Salver (Sportswoman of the year) from 2015.

Congratulations to Amanda George, recipient of the Sportsperson Award for 2017 - Para Archery

Sportsperson Award Previous Winners

Warren Fisher Trophy previous winners

Centels Salver previous winners

The Hayward Trophy - Sports and Recreational Body Award

Is presented to the Sport and Recreation Body (SRB) that has achieved the most for its activity and membership in that year.

Congratulations to the CS Riding Club; 2017 recipients of the Hayward Trophy.

Previous Winners

The Russell Scott Trophy - Area Association Award 

Is given to the Area association (AA) with the best all round record in that year. 

Congratulations to the Plymouth Area Association 2017 recipients of The Russell Scott Trophy.

Previous Winners

The Turnbull Award - Volunteer of the Year Award

This award honours and recognises a volunteer who has made a major contribution and impact on CSSC in a specific year through their continued efforts and hard work.

Our Volunteer of the Year Award goes to Jackie Ilderton from our North East region and Tyne and Wear and Northumberland Area Association. Congratulations!

Previous Winners

The Duke of York - Departmental Association Award

Awarded annually to the Departmental Association (DA) with the best record in that year. All nominations are open from the end of June to the end of February of the following year.

Congratulations to HASSRA for receiving The Duke of York Trophy for 2017.

Previous Winners

The John Whittaker Fellowship Award

This award honours a member each year who has made a major impact on CSSC during their membership through sustained highly meritorious volunteering.

Congratulations to Ian Allen OBE, Chairman of Eastern region and recipient of the John Whittaker Fellowship Award for 2017.

Previous Winner

Information to help you submit a nomination

Awards Criteria 

Recognition Scheme



CSSC Magazine







The latest edition of Leisure Scene is now available for you to view online, it's packed full of exciting things going on at CSSC.

You can also view the previous edition(s) here.