It appears you're visiting from a very old browser, or have compatibility mode set to make it seem like you're visiting from an old browser. Please turn off compatibility mode for our URL or visit us from a different browser. Thank you!


Congratulations to our volunteer award winners

24th Jun 2019

You could almost taste the excitement in the air as our volunteers began to arrive at the stunning Celtic Manor resort in Newport, Wales. Or perhaps that was the 'Welsh rarebit' starter.

This beautiful venue was the perfect backdrop to pay homage to our volunteers for their unwavering dedication and contribution to CSSC. The stunning adornments and arrangement of the room was easily matched by the glamour and prestige of our honoured guests.

The evening begins

The buzz and anticipation settled down as the celebration kicked off with a fitting video tribute, featuring some of our indefatigable volunteers.

Taking the stage, our CEO, Simon Lee echoed the thoughts and sentiments of the entire organisation in thanking the members, volunteers and guests for their hard work, commitment and enduring support throughout 2018.

Ably assisting Simon to present the awards and to encapsulate and articulate the stories which brought our award recipients to Wales was Sarah Cox, Rona Duncan, Wendy Ely, Stuart Fraser, Vic Herbert, Annie Jackson, Philip Rycroft, Andy Shaw and Kevin Holliday from our sponsor, the Civil Service Insurance Society.

The Fellowship Award

The award presentation culminated in the highlight of the evening, with the presentation of our most prestigious award, the ‘John Whittaker Fellowship Award’ to John West.

Celebrating a mere 52 years as a CSSC member and 44 years as a volunteer, John epitomises the role and contribution that our volunteers make. And was the most popular and deserving winner.

Tonight's Entertainment

A wonderful dinner seamlessly gave way to Frankie’s Guys, a Frankie Valli tribute act. Largely regarded as the best after dinner entertainment our volunteers had seen. The dance floor quickly filled up and stayed swinging till the end. The perfect end to a perfect night.

No amount of awards can fully express the gratitude of the team to all our volunteers, winners, runners-up, sponsor, organisers and contributors to the celebration evening. But hopefully, this year’s event went some way in thanking you all for everything you do.

With your help, we hope to make next year’s event even better. So if you know someone you’d like to recognise for encapsulating the essence and spirit of a CSSC volunteer, please keep your eyes peeled for this year’s nomination form.

Visit the photo gallery for some fantastic photos taken on the night!

Congratulations to our award winners

Sportsperson Award
  • Jodey Hughes
Heyward Trophy
  • OSRunners
Innovation Award
  • Plymouth Area Association
Duke of York Trophy 
  • Winner - Revenue and Customs Sport and Leisure (RCSL)
  • Runner up - HASSRA
  • Runner up - Minerva
Merit Awards
  • Sonny Ali
  • Alison Brucker
  • Sue Mulcahy
  • Steve Rice
  • Jacqui Ricot
  • Mick Roberts
  • Andy Silverster
Russell Scott Trophy
  • Winner - Derby and Nottinghamshire Area Association
  • Runner up - East Yorkshire Area Association
  • Runner up - Glasgow Area Association
  • Runner up - Gosport and Fareham Area Association
  • Runner up - Oxford Area Association
Turnbull Award - Volunteer of the Year
  • Winner - Gareth Edwards
  • Runner up - Paul Bebb
  • Runner up - Helen George
  • Runner up - Pamela Pepper
  • Runner up - Alan Wakefield
John Whittaker Fellowship Award
  • John West

Become a Member

Join today and become the latest member of the CSSC community!

Helping individuals and families get more out of life since 1921