This early and well-preserved example of a small free-standing Norman tower keep is located on a natural sandstone ledge near the head of a narrow valley. Rising almost to its original height, the tower takes its name from a chapel of St Leonard which once stood nearby.
Members of CSSC benefit from a great range of discounted and free days out and shopping vouchers.
Very little is known about the history of the building or its intended purpose. Some believe that it once stood as part of a castle, constructed between 1077 and 1108 by Gundulf, Bishop of Rochester, while a second school of thought argues its builder to have been Bishop Odo of Bayeux, half brother of William the Conqueror. Today visitors can explore the remains of the tower for themselves and enjoy the peaceful landscape that surrounds it.
Open any reasonable time during daylight hours